Nephrology School Listings Home            

   Nephrology Schools Feedback Feedback

Nephrology Schools Feedback
Site Search

Nephrology Listings
Nephrology Careers
Nephrology Schools FAQs
Anatomy Top Schools/School Rankings
Nephrology Nurse

Nephrology Nurse Information

How Do I Become a Nephrology Nurse? Roles of Nephrology Nurse Practice Settings of a Nephrology Nurse Working Environment of a Nephrology Nurse
Training requirements of a Nephrology Nurse Specialties of a Nephrology Nurse Qualifications for a Nephrology Nurse Associations for Nephrology Nurse
Certification & Eligibility requirements of a Nephrology Nurse Continuing Education for Nephrology Nurse Examination Recertification
Costs & Fees

Certification & Eligibility requirements of a Nephrology Nurse

The Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission offers three levels of certification for nephrology nurses. The Certified Dialysis Nurse (CDN) certification is available to registered nurses that have completed at least 2,000 hours of nephrology care work experience and Along with experience in nephrology at least 60 hours of qualifying continuing education within the past 2 years. The Certified Nephrology Nurse (CNN) certification is available to registered nurses who hold a bachelor's or master's degree in nursing and meet additional requirements (you must have an active registered nurse license). The Certified Nephrology Nurse-Nurse Practitioner (CNN-NP) certification is available to registered nurses who possess at least a master's degree in nursing and meet other specified requirements. The certification is which is offered through the Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC). 

Continuing Education for Nephrology Nurse

Nephrology nurses are registered nurses (RNs) with specialized education and experience in caring for patients who are experiencing, or are at risk for, kidney disease. Nephrology nurses continually update their education through a variety of programs, publications, and special activities. The American Nephrology Nursesí Association offers an annual National Symposium and a Fall Meeting for Nephrology Nurse Managers, Advanced Practice Nurses, and Clinicians by providing in-depth education sessions for nurses at all practice levels. ANNA also sponsors legislative and leadership workshops; audio conferences; distance learning courses; and numerous chapter programs. To advance their education and earning power even further, many nephrology nurses seek through the Nephrology Nursing Commission ( in nephrology nursing recognizes an individualís expertise in the specialty and demonstrates advanced knowledge and experience.


After meeting the eligibility requirements for the CNN-NP designation, you must pass the CNN-NP examination. As of May 2010, the exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions. The questions cover two axes of information, the first of which is client problems. This axis deals with acute renal failure, chronic kidney disease and renal replacement therapies such as hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, transplants and pheresis. The second axis of the test covers nurse practitioner activities. Under this axis, the test questions cover patient assessment and diagnoses, pharmacological interventions and the development of holistic plans. According to the NNCC, 65 percent of the questions are about renal failure and hemodialysis; about 20 percent of the test covers peritoneal dialysis.


To continue using the CNN-NP designation, you are required to apply for recertification every five years according to the NNCC. You can meet the requirements for recertification in two ways. The first way is to complete and submit 150 hours of approved continuing education credits. Of the 150 credit hours, 100 of them must specifically be in nephrology. Your other option for recertification is to take and pass a recertification exam. For either recertification option, you must also have 5000 hours of nephrology nursing work experience.

Costs & Fees

Several costs must be considered in planning for the CNN-NP designation. The first is the application processing fee of $50. The other fees are based on your membership status. The exam fee for members of the American Nephrology Nurses Association (ANNA) is $325 and $350 for non-members. There are also fees for recertification. The standard recertification fee is $300 for ANNA members and $325 for non-ANNA members as of May 2010.
Our Network Of Sites:
Apply 4               |  |  |
Anatomy                 | Anesthesiology  | Architecture | Audiology
Cardiology            | Computer Science | Computer Science | Dermatology
Epidemiology          | Gastroenterology  | Hematology     | Immunology
IT                | Kinesiology  | Language  | Music
Nephrology             | Neurology  | Neurosurgery | Obstetrics
Oncology    | Ophthalmology | Orthopedics       | Osteopathy
Otolaryngology | Pathology  | Pediatrics   | Physical Therapy
Plastic Surgery | Podiatry   | Psychiatry   | Pulmonary 
Radiology | Sports Medicine | Surgery  | Toxicology
US Law | US Med | US Dental

Copyright © 2000-2011 Nephrology Schools, All Right Reserved. | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer